Call Us CALL US TODAY | (816) 628-0092
Auto Insurance AUTO

Auto insurance protects you against financial loss if you have an accident.

Get A Quote
Homeowners Insurance HOME

A standard policy insures the home itself and the things you keep in it.

Get A Quote
Business Insurance BUSINESS

Discover the perfect insurance options to meet your specific and unique needs.

Get A Quote
Workers Comp WORKERS COMP

Browse a variety of insurance options in order to find the right one for you.

Get A Quote
Recreational Insurance RECREATIONAL

Enjoy peace of mind while traveling in an RV, camper, fifth wheel, or airplane.

Get A Quote
Life & health Insurance LIFE & HEALTH

Finding insurance doesn't have to be difficult. We do the work for you.

Get A Quote

There are bound to be disagreements between a landlord and tenant at some point during the duration of a lease, but many legal questions and problems can be solved without a lawyer if both parties understand the basics of state law. To become better informed and avoid legal conflict, here is an overview of key landlord-tenant laws in Missouri, provided by Nolo, a publisher of do-it-yourself legal guides:

Missouri Security Deposit Limit and Return

Missouri state law limits how much a landlord can charge for a security deposit (two months’ rent), when it must be returned (within 30 days after a tenant moves), and sets other restrictions on deposits.

Small Claims Lawsuits in Missouri

Tenants can sue landlords in small claims court for the return of their deposit, up to a dollar amount of $5,000.

Missouri Rent Rules

State law regulates several rent-related issues, including how much time (five days in Missouri) a tenant has to pay overdue rent or move before a landlord can file for eviction.

Missouri Termination and Eviction Rules

State laws specify when and how a landlord may terminate a tenancy. For example, a landlord may give a Missouri tenant who has used the premises for gambling, prostitution, or possession, sale, or distribution of controlled substances an unconditional quit notice that gives the tenant 10 days to move out before the landlord can file for eviction. 

Landlord Access to Rental Property, Tenant Protection Against Retaliation, and Other State Laws in Missouri

Several other landlord-tenant laws in Missouri affect both property owners and renters, including:

  • procedures for how landlords must handle abandoned property left behind by tenants, and
  • fair housing rights (discrimination is also prohibited by federal and, often, local law.
Posted 9:28 AM  View Comments

Share |


No Comments


Post a Comment
Name
Required
E-Mail
Required (Not Displayed)
Comment
Required


All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
Submission Validation
Required
CAPTCHA
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
 
Enter the Validation Code from above.
NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.
Blog Archive


View Mobile Version
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Google+
Enhanced Insurance
© Copyright. All rights reserved.
Powered by Insurance Website Builder